RAC Bulletin 2012-045E – New Ontario Section Boundaries

RAC Bulletin 2012-045E – New Ontario Section Boundaries


I am very pleased to announce that on schedule, September 1, 2012 the current Ontario Section will be replaced by four new Sections: Ontario North (ONN), Ontario East (ONE), Ontario South (ONS), and the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). The new sections are composed of the following municipalities, regions, and municipal districts.

I am also thrilled to advise that all four Section Manager Positions have been filled and I will circulate a formal introduction in the week to come.

Ontario North (ONN)

All of northwest Ontario including Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands, Killarney, the cities of Greater Sudbury and North Bay and Nipissing District.

Ontario East (ONE)

Algonquin Park, Renfrew, Hastings, Prince Edward, Haliburton, Peterborough and Northhumberland Counties, and the cities and counties to the east.

Greater Toronto Area (GTA)

The City of Toronto and the Regions of Halton (including the City of Burlington), Peel, York, and Durham.

Ontario South (ONS)

Parry Sound District, the counties of Simcoe, Grey, Bruce, Dufferin, Wellington, the City of Hamilton, the Region of Niagara, and the remainder of south-western Ontario.

Please see attached map.


The ARRL has recognized the four new sections and they will be effective for the ARRL November Sweepstakes. Several other vendors of logging/contest software have also announced changes, some not effective until January 2013. Please verify with your vendor well in advance of upcoming contests.


Doug Mercer VO1DTM/VO1DM CEC

Chief Field Services Officer

Vernon Ikeda – VE2MBS/VE2QQ

Pointe-Claire, Québec

0 Responses to “RAC Bulletin 2012-045E – New Ontario Section Boundaries”

Comments are currently closed.